Meele class + AoE playstyle?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Meele class + AoE playstyle?

Post by damaconz on Fri Apr 11, 2014 6:48 am

Hey all,

I've been playing Median XL for a few months now, and I'm having difficulty finding a playstyle that I enjoy a lot AND isn't incredibly frustrating.

I started with an elem druid using elem + banshee and acid fiends to tank, but I wasn't very good at it and I could barely clear anything (I think I managed to kill dest. butcher, TA, King Koth, and Tal Rasha). Farming everywhere else was way too slow and minions died way too fast.

I then tried a bowazon using wyrmshot + barrage, and I love the killspeed + ease (spam wyrmshot, autotargets enemies and kills just about everything offscreen), but it's so squishy that I die to just about everything (running EF, so 0 defence is rough. I use SoV because invincible tank + summons is awesome). I do a lot of damage, but still not enough to kill stuff in uberlevels before I get annihilated.

So here comes the quandary: I would love to run a super-tanky, nigh-invincible eagle stance meele barb, but I'm worried about the lack of AoE. One of the things I <3 about the bowazon is that I can spam wyrmshot and kill everything really easily, especially stuff that's difficult to target. How easy is it to play a reasonable meele class that can tank ubers or other enemies without worrying about only lasting 2-3 hits to most mobs. I've been reading the barbarian builds, and some are saying you can manage 1M+ defence, and eagle stance is like drinking a potion non-stop, but is the killspeed so slow that it's not worth it? What about elem-immune enemies? Bowazon does get tri-elem damage, so I can kill ANYTHING with wyrmshot. Same possibility with barbarian?