Help me develop a game (and some my background story)

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Help me develop a game (and some my background story)

Post by iwansquall on Thu Jan 17, 2013 8:25 am

This mainly just to voice something that have been on mind for long time.
Aside for my goal to create a touhou (shmup) clone, this much more important for my current career.
I simply just need to polish to concept better and try the code ASAP as I already done my project here and Im coming to my hometown.
Simply said, i need to find a new job within 2 months.

But in mean time, I have thinking about this idea since about 1 year ago.
While I respect Laz and marco for developing such a godly mod, Im myself will never reach that level.
In fact video game industry is not something big in my country, so I dunno if im gonna stick with game development.
Im gonna talk abit about my background.

I graduated as industrial designer that focused on design sketches, 3d modelling and idea conceptualization.
Im kinda hardcore gamer, so I wouldnt say that really succeeded with that degree.
However it does taught me some skill like 3dsmax which can be transfer to 3d games.
As for sketching, I have drawing manga/anime style since 17 years old which quite long, but I feel very rusty.

Before i was hired into my current game company, Im pretty much stayed a home for such a long time.
Without working or into any education (japanese called them NEET), i just played game all day long.
That why i respect Laz and Marco because they managed to start much earlier (teen-age) while Im kinda late to the game.
When I was hired, my job was majorly just to managed 3d asset for the game (more like prototype), which unfortunately... the project finished and I have zero thing to do with 3d game.
To make matter worst, im just only guy with 3d knowledge in that office.

When there was meeting for a new game development (2d interactive television game), I pretty much just sat and listen.